College of Visual and Performing Arts
George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

Tickets/Events

Veterans and the Arts

Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series: Level 1

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 31, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 7:00pm

Level I: 7 - 7:45 p.m.
Level II: 8 - 8:45 p.m.

Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their own guitar or try one of ours in this ten-week series of lessons with Glen McCarthy, guitar instructor at George Mason University. FREE for Veterans, Servicemembers, their families, and military ca...Read More


Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series: Level 2

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 31, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 8:00pm

Level I: 7 - 7:45 p.m.
Level II: 8 - 8:45 p.m.

Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their own guitar or try one of ours in this ten-week series of lessons with Glen McCarthy, guitar instructor at George Mason University. FREE for Veterans, Servicemembers, their families, and military ca...Read More


Exploring Self & Social Identity with Women Veterans: A Mixed Media Workshop

Sunday, Mar 08, 2020 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 1:00pm

Register

Instructor: Andi Benge, School of Art, George Mason University

Want to learn to paint? Join us for this three-part workshop that explores women Veterans’ self and social identity through mixed media. By combining several mediums such as water based media and collage techniques, learn to uti...Read More


Research Opportunity: Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshops with Glen McCarthy

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Mar 25, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 7:00pm

Register

If you have ever wanted to try your hand at the tiny, musical marvel that is the ukulele, or continue building your skills, now is your chance!  The Veterans and the Arts Initiative is offering the Veteran community the opportunity to participate in a four-week series.  All participants are...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshop Series: Level I

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 6:30pm

Register

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, Guitar Instructor, School of Music, George Mason University

If you have ever wanted to try your hand at the tiny, musical marvel that is the ukulele, now is your chance! Back by popular demand, the Veterans and the Arts Initiative is offering the Veteran community...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshop Series: Level II

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 7:30pm

Register

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, Guitar Instructor, School of Music, George Mason University

If you have ever wanted to try your hand at the tiny, musical marvel that is the ukulele, now is your chance! Back by popular demand, the Veterans and the Arts Initiative is offering the Veteran community...Read More


Schools & Programs