Calendar

Beginning October 18, 2021, proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test result is required for all audience members. Details here.

Veterans and the Arts

June 2021

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshop Series Fall 2021

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 28, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2021 7:00pm
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2021 7:00pm

Registration for this workshop has now closed.

At the end of the series, we will also offer a bonus workshop! If you have always wanted to sing and play the ukulele - but aren't feeling quite ready, get tips on how to improve your singing technique and your confidence in a bonus workshop on Zoom Nov... Read more

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Songwriting Series for Military Kids Fall 2021

Sunday, Sep 26, 2021 1:00pm
Sunday, Oct 03, 2021 1:00pm
Sunday, Oct 10, 2021 1:00pm
Sunday, Oct 17, 2021 1:00pm
Sunday, Oct 24, 2021 1:00pm
Sunday, Oct 31, 2021 1:00pm
Off Campus Location

Registration for this event has closed.

Join us in-person at Mason Community Arts Academy and George Mason University’s Fairfax campus for a six-week series designed for military kids and teenagers where they will learn songwriting skills in a collaborative, safe environment. Students may bring melo... Read more

Hylton at Home

Community Conversation with The War & Treaty - Michael Trotter and Tanya Trotter

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2021 6:00pm
Virtual Event

REGISTER

Virtual Event

The husband-and-wife duo of Michael Trotter and Tanya Trotter – better known as The War and Treaty – can authentically sing about hope as they are living examples. Suffering from PTSD following his time serving in the Iraq War, Trotter persevered – thanks to Tanya's encouragem... Read more

Hylton Presents

The War and Treaty

Sunday, Nov 14, 2021 7:00pm

Buy Tickets

A Concert Celebrating Veterans and the Arts

Drawing on traditional folk, country, R&B, and spirituals, The War and Treaty have earned praise for their dynamic and passionate performances. Named Americana Music Awards 2019 Emerging Act of the year, this husband-and-wife duo of Michael Tro... Read more

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Spring 2022 Guitar Workshop Series

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 08, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 15, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 01, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 08, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 15, 2022 7:00pm

Registration required to participate. Registration for this workshop will open starting late November/early December.

Have you always wanted to try the guitar? Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their guitars — or try one of ours — in eight weeks of workshops with Glen McCarthy, inst... Read more

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Picturing You! Collage and Self-Portraiture

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2022 7:00pm
Wednesday, Feb 02, 2022 7:00pm
Hylton Parking Lot, Science and Technology Campus, Virtual Event

Registration required to participate. Registration for this workshop will open starting late November/early December.

How many of us take the time to look in a mirror and think about who that person is staring back at us? This workshop is about exploring what defines us and makes us unique from our ... Read more

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Exploring Self & Social Identity with Women Veterans: A Hybrid Mixed Media Workshop

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 29, 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 05, 2022 7:00pm
Hylton Performing Arts Center, Lg Rehearsal Hall, Science and Technology Campus, Hylton Performing Arts Ctr, CVPA Shared Classroom, Science and Technology Campus, Virtual Event

Registration required to participate. Registration for this workshop will open starting late November/early December.

Want to make art? Join us for this three-part hybrid workshop, in-class or virtual, that explores Women Veteran’s self and social identity through mixed media. Learn how to combine s... Read more

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Collaborative Quilt Workshop

Saturday, Apr 02, 2022 1:00pm
Sunday, Apr 03, 2022 1:00pm

Registration required to participate. Registration for this workshop will open starting late November/early December.

Join us for this two-part family workshop — no quilting or sewing experience required! Combining easy fiber arts and mixed media techniques, you will create your own unique quilt squ... Read more

June 2021