Hylton Performing Arts Center

Skip to Content

Veterans and the Arts

Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Fundamentals of Drawing

Sunday, Feb 03, 2019 1:00pm
Sunday, Feb 10, 2019 1:00pm
Location: Hylton Performing Arts Center, Rehearsal Room, Science and Technology
Presented By: Veterans and the Arts Initiative

Instructor: Martin Cervantez, Master Sergeant, USA (Ret.)

This class covers the fundamentals of still life drawing and offers opportunity to enhance creative skills during the indoor winter months. Instruction covers materials, composition, blocking in shapes, and completion of a drawing, with demos...Read More


Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series Winter Jams

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 26, 2019 7:00pm

Due to inclement weather , Guitar Winter Jams is cancelled on Tuesday, January 29, and has been rescheduled for Tuesday, February 26 at 7 pm.

Veterans and the Arts Initiative

Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their own guitar or try one of ours in these three winter guitar jam sessi...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Papermaking Workshop

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 9:00am
Saturday, Mar 09, 2019 9:00am
Saturday, Mar 16, 2019 9:00am
Saturday, Mar 23, 2019 9:00am

Instructor: Patrick Sargent, USAF (Ret.), Artist, Printmaker, Papermaker

This workshop covers the basic techniques of hand papermaking using rags or old clothes and includes deconstructing materials using the Hollander Beater; pulp preparation; sheet forming; couching; pressing; and drying. Instruct...Read More


Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 26, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 26, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 09, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 09, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 16, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 16, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 30, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 30, 2019 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 07, 2019 6:00pm
Tuesday, May 07, 2019 7:00pm

This workshop series has reached capacity and is no longer accepting registrations.

Veterans and the Arts Initiative

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, George Mason University

Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their own guitar or try one of ours in this ten-week series of lessons with Glen ...Read More


Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series: Level II

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 26, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 09, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 16, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 30, 2019 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 07, 2019 8:00pm

This workshop series has reached capacity and is no longer accepting registrations.

Veterans and the Arts Initiative

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, George Mason University

Musicians of all skill levels are invited to bring their own guitar or try one of ours in this ten-week series of lessons with Glen ...Read More


Exploring Identity with Women Veterans: Photography Exhibition/Reception

Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 24, 2019 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 1:00pm

Veterans and the Arts Initiative

Instructor: Danielle Dravenstadt, Photography Instructor, School of Art, George Mason University

Note: the April 7 workshop is the final in this series and will culminate at the end of class in a reception and exhibition of the participants’ work in the Buchanan Part...Read More