College of Visual and Performing Arts
George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

Tickets/Events

As part of our collective effort to minimize the impact of Coronavirus/COVID-19 to our community, all performances at the Hylton Performing Arts Center have been cancelled through May 18, 2020. This includes performances by the Hylton Center Arts Partners, and all events sponsored by external organizations. Information for ticket holders can be found here. If you have tickets to a performance that is cancelled, please contact the Hylton Center Ticket Office.

Veterans and the Arts

January 2020

Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series: Level 1

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 31, 2020 7:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 7:00pm

Update: The Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series will continue to take place through teleworkshops as of Tuesday, March 17!  We invite all who are registered for this class to join us every Tuesday evening for our usual guitar workshop at its regularly scheduled time....but through your c...Read More


Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series: Level 2

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Mar 31, 2020 8:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 8:00pm

Update: The Dominion Energy Veterans Guitar Workshop Series will continue to take place through teleworkshops as of Tuesday, March 17!  We invite all who are registered for this class to join us every Tuesday evening for our usual guitar workshop at its regularly scheduled time....but through your c...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Drawing from Photographs

Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 1:00pm
Saturday, Feb 15, 2020 1:00pm
Saturday, Feb 22, 2020 1:00pm

Instructor: Martin Cervantez, Master Sergeant, USA (Ret.)

This class covers the fundamentals of drawing from photographs and offers an opportunity to enhance creative skills during the indoor winter months.  Instruction with demos covers basic drawing materials, composition, scaling, details, tonal ...Read More


CANCELLED: Exploring Self & Social Identity with Women Veterans: A Mixed Media Workshop

Sunday, Mar 08, 2020 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 1:00pm
Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 1:00pm

Instructor: Andi Benge, School of Art, George Mason University

Want to learn to paint? Join us for this three-part workshop that explores women Veterans’ self and social identity through mixed media. By combining several mediums such as water based media and collage techniques, learn to utilize your...Read More


Research Opportunity: Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshops with Glen McCarthy

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Mar 25, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 7:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 7:00pm

UPDATE: Currently, we are planning for the ukulele workshops to continue through teleworkshops!  We invite you to join us....but through your computer or smart phone!

We are working to determine when the ukulele workshops can take place, and what remote platform we will use to conduct them. As soon ...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshop Series: Level I

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 6:30pm

UPDATE: We are currently accepting registrations, though location/platform is TBD.

Register

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, Guitar Instructor, School of Music, George Mason University

If you have ever wanted to try your hand at the tiny, musical marvel that is the ukulele, now is your chance! Back by pop...Read More


Veterans and the Arts Initiative: Ukulele Workshop Series: Level II

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 7:30pm

UPDATE: We are currently accepting registrations, though location/platform is TBD.

Register

Instructor: Glen McCarthy, Guitar Instructor, School of Music, George Mason University

If you have ever wanted to try your hand at the tiny, musical marvel that is the ukulele, now is your chance! Back by pop...Read More


January 2020

Schools & Programs